food-fun

Ian finally gave his blessing and this week I have left the land of the lemons. Now, I know that it may be surprising that he has sent me on through the book, as we all know that Ian is not one to change his mind, but he decided that I should try new things. Who knows how long he will allow it before bringing me back to lemon world, so in the mean time we will see where it goes!

I am a lover of pasta. There is a little Italian place here in my hometown which serves authentic Italian food. It was there that I first tried carbonara. So, I was very excited to try the recipe when I found it Bits and Bites. I have to tell you it did not disappoint! So I need to start by reminding you all that I am a nurse and certainly not a photographer. I apologize for the photo in advance. (I guess flash isn’t always my friend!)

20170128_164359_resized2195

I have mentioned previously that one of the reasons that I love this book is because of the ingredients used in the recipes. In the spaghetti carbonara, I didn’t have to buy anything special at all. I made 2 small changes to the original recipe. First, I did not have linguini in the house, so I used thin spaghetti. Second, I have a husband that has medical issues and I am always looking for ways to add protein to any meal. So, I added grilled chicken to the carbonara. He is not always a lover of trying new things, but he has enjoyed our trip with the Masters and Mercenaries as much as I have and this week is no exception. If you like pasta, then you will love this recipe!

What should I make next week? I would love to hear from you!